Reviews of specific carving products by those who've used them.
By wookie66
I bought 2 last year and one of them is down to just one red light working on it and the other has lost the green light. Just wondering is this a common problem with these because they worked great last year for halloween and i want to buy more this year but not if they are going to break after the first month of use.
By Zombie Pumpkins!
Hmm, well that's no good. Sorry to hear of your dead light experience. I've probably shipped out thousands of those Deluxe Rainbow Lights to customers. Occasionally someone will report an issue involving one of the LED lights not working when they first try it. And I've replaced those ones that are defective from the start. But I haven't heard anything about the lights going out, from year to year.

I've been using the same few Howler lights for several years and they all still work fine. LEDs should have a very long lifespan, so I'd guess the issue is a failure with the connections inside. Were the lights ever dropped? Where they stored in any extreme temperatures or around excessive moisture?

Also, if you haven't used them for almost a year, did you remove the batteries before storing the lights? That's a good practice to get into. After sitting idle for months, the batteries could become corroded. Also, if the batteries are left in, the on-button could get pressed accidentally, which would use the LEDs (although likely drain the batteries first).

Anyway, I haven't heard any common issues with these lights, but they are small plastic things so they probably won't last forever. If anyone else has experience with the longevity of the product (or lack-thereof) , I'd be glad to hear about it.
By wookie66