Trading tips for gutting, transferring, and carving the real thing.
By johnnyboy
Hi guys,
I'm new to all this and was wondering how soon you all start?

I want to get about 6 done this year and normally I do it all on halloween :-)

How long do these things last once I butcher them?

Thanks

John
By Zombie Pumpkins!
I like my carvings to look fresh on Halloween, so I try to carve as many as I can on the day. Maybe half of what I end up doing, and the other half the day before.

As for how long they last, it really depends on a variety of factors. The quality of the pumpkin you got, your climate (temp and humidity), your methods of preserving it, etc.

I know people in hot climates that carve and instantly they dry up. I carved one yesterday and even with Vaseline, it's starting the shrivel. I assume because I have my heat on, and have had a candle going in it non-stop.

If you carve early, keep them cool if you can. Outside works, as long as no animals or vandals damage them. And cover with a towel or something if frost is a fear.

Carving any earlier, maybe saran wrap them or put in the fridge. We're getting pretty close to the big day now though, so you should be good.
By Dadja
Well for me it's always a rush on Halloween, because not only I have to carve 10-15 pumpkins, but I need to prepare my food and bar for the visitors coming at around 20.00. Even if I start @ 8.00 and the same the day before it's always a very close call.

So this year I'm planning it a bit more 'carefully'.

My newly bought pumpkin gutter will allow me to gut all my pumpkins in record speed on Wednesday. After that I'll just keep them outside where it's cool.

On Thursday I'll try to carve as many pumpkins as possible, soak them in water with bleach for an hour of two (my favourite preservation trick) and wrap them.