Trading tips for gutting, transferring, and carving the real thing.
By Rich D
I'm going to carve a watermelon for the 4th, but I've never tried one before. Does anyone have any tips to help the process? Should I thin the walls of the melon? What are the best tools? I have a dremel, a ZP kit, a bunch of old PM saws and x-actos.

Thanks for any and all advice!
Carving watermelons is a lot of fun, and people seem impressed, since you don't see it as often as pumpkins. For the most part, the process is very similar to carving pumpkins. But here are some watermelon specific tips.

Grab yourself a watermelon that is big enough to fit the pattern you want to use. With a long kitchen knife, cut an inch or two off one end. This will give you access to the melon insides. It will also provide a flat base for the melon lantern to stand on when you're done. So make this slice nice and straight, so you'll have a flat bottom.

Scooping out the insides of the melon is the step where the process differs most from pumpkin carving. Unlike pumpkins which are somewhat hollow to begin with, you'll have a lot of juicy red flesh to remove from the shell. Have a very large bowl or pot nearby to drop the melon into. Not only will you have a cool melon lantern when you're done, but you'll have a ton of melon you can eat.

I use one of these tools to scoop out the insides of my watermelon. An ice cream scoop, a Monster Scoop (top right) or a Jack-o'-Ripper Scraper Scoop (bottom).