Pumpkin patch practices and gourd garden grooming.
This is the first time ive had a go at growing my own. I live in Scotland and our Summer has been non-existent so goodness only knows if i'll get a proper kin out of this plant. Here is my progress so far. I took these pics today, about 7 weeks after i first planted:

Click on the pic to see the whole thing :D

Here they are a few weeks later. Notice the ring of slug pellets round the kins. I had no choice but to do this when the snails attacked the smallest pumpkin! THIS IS WAR!!

Id say that this one is my biggest. He is 16" tall. Im not sure how fat he is, i don't want to disturb him trying to get my tape measure round.

This one is a fatty too.

Starting to ripen up nicely.

Here is the little S**t that killed the baby of the bunch, caught in the act! :x
Last edited by monstermash on Sun Aug 22, 2010 11:14 am, edited 1 time in total.
By Zombie Pumpkins!
Nice photos! I'm no pumpkin expert, but that patch looks pretty good to me so far. I love the look of the pumpkin plant.... the vines, the leaves, the flowers. Good luck with your kins.
By SuperSonic
zombiepumpkins wrote:Nice photos! I'm no pumpkin expert, but that patch looks pretty good to me so far. I love the look of the pumpkin plant.... the vines, the leaves, the flowers. Good luck with your kins.
Is that a double compliment Ryan :)

Thanks Monstermash for uploading those pics and if Ryan did compliment us both (I hope so, I bought a membership this afternoon :P) Thank you Ryan for giving us hope for a great growing season :)

I don't know if anyone knows this, but here are two questions I wish to ask.

a) What does it mean when a leaf turns white?

b) If a thick vine has broken and is turning black, what should I
do?
By monstermash