Hey, what's new with you? Tell us about yourself.
Ok shortly before halloween I recieved an email from a Jounalist who wanted to 'do a piece' on pumpkin carving. He didn't give me any details but when he knew I was too far away from London, I offered to find him someone further down on the map ..... Cue the lovely Gus :)

Well in a nutshell we both got given the obligatory "I'll get back to you!!"

Needless to say I don't know who the hell he spoke to in the end but they say a picture paints a thousand words check this out ...... :roll: :shock:

http://www.guardian.co.uk/lifeandstyle/ ... 02&index=0
By Tkaraoke
Ummmmm....I'm no expert but that really blew chunks! LOL
By monstermash
Oh dear indeed!! You'd think the Guardian would have done better. Poke hole method!?!?!?
By matspud
Its the bit about removing the skin with a knife after you've carved it that gets me. Remove the skin from your fingers ( and possibly remove your fingers) it should have said. :P
By nosferatu
GUS has been (rightly) very critical of the journalist and his article on his twitter account.

What a shame! Could have been a really good story too! :(
By Zombie Pumpkins!
I fairly primitive tutorial... we could all teach them a few tricks, right?!

Yeah, I don't really get the "removing the skin" part. Not really necessary for that spider design. It will just make the design dry out faster.

Plus, if you want to scrape away the skin, wouldn't you do that before cutting out the cut-through parts? And with a tool that is more accurate than a giant knife!? (clay loop, linoleum cutter, wood gouge, etc)
By CorpseBride
Zombie Pumpkins! wrote:I fairly primitive tutorial... we could all teach them a few tricks, right?!

Yeah, I don't really get the "removing the skin" part. Not really necessary for that spider design. It will just make the design dry out faster....