Trading tips for gutting, transferring, and carving the real thing.
By Mrs. Tat
First let me say that I am pretty new at this pumpkin carving thing. I plan to get a Speedball lino cutter with blade #2 and blade #5 to use mainly for shaving pumpkin skin, but I will also want to try actually carving pumpkins as well (I do cut and gut my shaved pumpkins so the light will shine through the shaded area).

What is the best tool or tool set to use for carving? I saw discussion on this site about the Warren professional pumpkin carving set so I checked it out on the web. It looks nice. Could the speedball lino cutter do the same thing (not sure if they have the same type cutters)? I don't want to sepnd money and order the Warren set if the Speedball can do the same job as well. I am willing to buy the Warren set if it will do a better carving job though.

One difference I notice is that the Warren set uses a wrench to change the tools and the Speedball has a chuck.

Opinions anyone?
By Zombie Pumpkins!
I have a Speedball lino cutter, but I use it more for the "shaving" methods. Maybe I'm not aware of what the blades you're using with it are like. Are they like little saws? For cut-through patterns such as the ones I offer, I think you need a mini saw blade of decent length.

That's why I use the Warren pro tool. They come with 6 blades (two different sizes). And while the tool comes with a wrench, you don't really need it to change blades. I just turn the brass chuck with my hand to loosen/tighten the blades. Much like you can do with the Speedball handle or an X-acto knife handle.

I'm not recommending the Warren tool just because I'll be selling them this season. :wink: It just happens to be the favorite tool I've used so far. If anyone is interested in picking one up, keep your loyal Patch Master in mind. Here's a few photos of the "ZP edition" of this tool, which I'll have on sale soon.

Image Image Image
By S.A.M