Sharing knowledge for the art of artificial craft pumpkins.
I picked up half a dozen Michael's foam pumpkins and a Versa Tool. Unfortunately, the employee's at Michael's looked at me funny when I asked about Transfer paper.. So I'm afraid I have to resort to the glue method. My biggest concern is will the Versa Tool burn or set the paper on fire?

If you couldn't tell, This is my first time working with foam pumpkins and the Versa tool. I did a couple real pumpkins last year, Heads up! and Michael Myers. My family thought they were fantastic, but after about a week in the fridge they started to turn.. so I'm looking for something that will essentially last forever.

Am I just paranoid? Or am I looking at a serious fire hazard here?

Thanks.
By Jack Carving
Here's an update.

I'm happy to announce I did not in fact, burn my house down.. lol. Staypuft Marshmellow Man has been forever immortalized on a white Foam Pumpkin.

It was touch and go for awhile as I got used to the Versa-tool, but I'm proud of my first attempt. :) I will say though, I would definitely love to get my hands on some Saral Transfer Paper, the glued method is quite a pain in the butt.

Cinderella and Lightning McQueen are next, for my niece and nephew.
Last edited by Jack Carving on Tue Oct 12, 2010 9:07 pm, edited 1 time in total.
By pagemaster1993
I've seen those white Foamies but didn't really think they would help you see the pattern when the lights aren't on.
By Zombie Pumpkins!
Never tried to cut through paper and foam with a versa tool. So I have no experience to share, but I'm glad you didn't burn the place down (although melted marshmallow sounds good). Stay Puft came out great! Nice idea to put him on the white pumpkin. You're off to a great start. If you decide you get sick of gluing and what to try transfer paper, the shop is always open. ;)
By sloaner